Google is bringing some changes that will certainly annoy some power users.
The search giant Google has recently announced that some important changes to automatic sync between Google Drive and Google Photos. It appears that Google has decided that the connection between these services is confusing, so they will no longer work together starting next month.
Google’s decision to change how these services will be working, is not entirely made by the company. Google says that its decision is based on feedback received from users. As Google wrote in a blog post;
“We’ve heard that many of you would like more granular control when copying photos and videos from Drive into Photos. So we’re bringing a new feature to photos.google.com called “Upload from Drive,” which lets you manually choose photos and videos from Drive, including “Shared with Me” items, to import into Photos.”
So, from July, new photos and videos from Drive won’t automatically show in Photos. At the same time, new photos and videos in Photos will not be added to the Photos folder in Drive. Also, photos and videos that are being deleted in Drive will no longer be removed from Photos and vice versa.
Meanwhile, Google will still give users options to Backup and Sync on Windows or MacOS to upload photos/videos in HQ or normal quality. Moreover, the photos and videos you had uploaded to Google Photos from Drive prior to this change will remain in Photos.
Culled from: TechJuice